fbpx

Immerse yourself in the heart of L'Oustau de Baumanière, under the guidance of its iconic chef Jean-André Charial.

Restaurants and terraces reopen across France on June 2. We invite you to discover in this article, and perhaps on your next vacation, this institution nestled in Les Baux de Provence, in the Alpilles mountains. A place where celebrities come and go, including Queen Elizabeth on an official visit. Today, the rooms are spacious, the Spa sublime, the pools immense, the kitchen garden organic and... the restaurants unique.

A star at 27

As a child, he wanted to be a comedian, then a gendarme... but in the end, he'll be a chef! Just like his uncle, his grandmother and even his father, who never hesitated to get behind the stove. It was a passion he inherited, which enabled him to learn the ropes in some of the finest establishments in the world. From the Meurice to the Plaza Athénée, via the Hyatt group, he earned his first Michelin star at Le Peron in Marseille, before spending five years at La Caravelle in Bonifacio. Next came Cheval Blanc and Kilimandjaro in Courchevel, where he earned his second star in just two seasons. And what better way to tantalize the taste buds than with a mushroom, potato and foie gras tart! In 2015, he set down his knives in Les Baux-de-Provence. Never blasé, Glenn Viel dares to create iconoclastic cuisine whose sole aim is to please. For him, cooking is a bottomless pit. There's so much to create. At Les Baux, he has carte blanche, but he tries to understand the history of the house with his own sensibility.

A cuisine of gourmet identity

Without looking at the plates of neighboring chefs, Glenn is inspired by what he is. As a result, his dishes have a story, a reflection... Like, for example, a raw lisette with Galician sea urchin, caviar peas or duck foie gras cooked in inertia. Or a Costières squab cooked in a hay crust with lavender carcass jus. Any room left for a sweet treat? The millefeuille with Madagascar vanilla light cream, pistachio florentine and vanilla ice cream is a must. A real invitation to a gastronomic voyage.

Information www.baumaniere.com and Tel: 04 90 54 33 07.

restaurant,gastronomy,chef,starred

Immersion au cœur de l’Oustau de Baumanière sous l’approbation de son chef iconique Jean-André Charial.

Les restaurants et leurs terrasses réouvrent le 2 juin dans toute la France. Nous vous invitions à découvrir dans cet article et  peut-être lors de vos prochaines vacances cet établissement qui est une véritable institution, niché dans Les Baux de Provence, dans le massif des Alpilles,. Un lieu de vie où se succèdent les célébrités dont la Reine Elizabeth lors d’un voyage officiel. Aujourd’hui, les chambres sont spacieuses, le Spa sublime, les piscines immenses, le potager bio et… les restaurants uniques.

Une étoile à 27 ans

Enfant, il voulait être humoriste puis gendarme… finalement, il sera cuisinier ! Tout comme son oncle, sa grand-mère et même son père qui, n’hésite pas à passer derrière les fourneaux. Une passion en héritage qui lui permet de faire ses classes dans les plus belles maisons. Du Meurice au Plaza Athénée en passant par le groupe Hyatt, il décroche sa première étoile Michelin au Peron à Marseille avant de partir pour cinq ans à La Caravelle à Bonifacio. Suivent le Cheval Blanc et le Kilimandjaro à Courchevel où en juste deux saisons, il décroche sa seconde étoile. De quoi nous mettre les papilles en émoi avec une petite tarte champignons, pommes de terre et foie gras ! Un cuisinier voyageur qui pose ses couteaux en 2015 aux Baux-de-Provence. Jamais blasé, Glenn Viel ose une cuisine iconoclaste dont la seule volonté est de faire plaisir. Pour lui, la cuisine est un puits sans fond. Il y a tellement de choses à créer. Aux Baux, il a carte blanche mais il essaye de comprendre l’histoire de la maison avec sa propre sensibilité.

Une cuisine identitaire et gourmande

Sans regarder l’assiette des chefs voisins, Glenn s’inspire de ce qu’il est. Ainsi, ses plats ont des histoires, une réflexion… Comme par exemple, une lisette à cru avec oursin de Galice, le petit pois caviar ou un foie gras de canard cuit en inertie. Ou encore, un pigeonneau des Costières cuit en croute de foin et jus de carcasse à la lavande. Encore une petite place pour une douceur ? Le millefeuille à la crème légère de vanille de Madagascar, florentine pistache et glace vanille s’impose comme un incontournable. Une véritable invitation au voyage gastronomique.

Renseignements www.baumaniere.com et Tél. : 04 90 54 33 07.

restaurant,gastronomie,chef,étoilé

elit. justo consequat. ut fringilla nec Praesent vel, odio